Start Your Year On Fire With This Personal Exercise

Tips to Start Your Year On Fire!

On January 2, we at USLC shared in our Burning Bowl service, an amazing ceremony of symbolically releasing the things that are no longer serving us, including things, emotions, attitudes, habits, fears, and even old embedded theology! Now we are ready to move into 2011 with a clean slate, filled with zeal and excitement!

Here is a quick activity to get you started in the right direction:

Part 1: Looking Back

Grab a pen and quickly jot down your first-impression answers to the following questions:

  • What was the best decision I made in 2010?
  • What was the one thing I would change about 2010 if I could?
  • What was the most exciting and fun thing I did in 2010?
  • What was the best lesson I learned in 2010?
  • Who made the biggest impact on my life in 2010?
  • What was the best book I read in 2010? Why?
  • What was the best movie I saw in 2010? Why?
  • What one change did I make that was worth the risk in 2010?
  • What was the biggest change in my Spiritual practice in 2010?

Part 2: Looking Forward

Now jot down your first-impression answers to these questions:

  • What is my biggest fear as I move into 2011?
  • What idea keeps popping into my Consciousness that really excites me?
  • What three changes would I like to make in my life experience during 2011?
  • If I could capture my vision for 2011 in just ONE WORD, what would that word be?
  • If I could make just one change in my personal Spiritual practice during 2011, what would it be?
  • What can I use as my personal  motivator, to keep me moving forward when the world of appearance gets in my way?

Part 3: Reflection

Read over everything you have captured in your responses to the questions above. Then, go into the Silence and allow Spirit to reveal your plan for 2011. Be aware of the Divine Ideas that flow to you, and allow yourself to recognize your worthiness to receive the abundance that is ready to unfold before you this amazing year! Capture your thoughts and reflections in your journal, and use these notes to move you into the best year you have ever experienced.


Leave a Reply

